IDZ Logo
idz.de · Active Ageing
» Design Led Innovations for Active Ageing (DAA)
Link DAA website The International Design Center Berlin represents the city of Berlin in the EU co-financed project “Design Led Innovations for Active Ageing (DAA)”. The project runs from January 2012 to June 2014 and includes partners from Antwerp, Barcelona, Berlin, Helsinki, Oslo, Sofia, Stockholm and Warsaw.
Backdrop Demographic change represents a common challenge for European cities. Predictions show that less and less care personnel will face a growing number of elderly people, while public resources decline.
Objectives The overall objective of the DAA project is to use design as a driver for innovation and help reinvent ways of addressing demographic change. By combining stakeholder experience with service designer expertise, DAA will contribute to social innovation and public sector transformation in the area of senior care. Stakeholders come from both the private and the public sector and include service providers, local authorities, companies that develop and sell technology, insurance companies, volunteers, policy-makers, and end users.
Approach DAA adopts an approach that is both design-led and user-driven. In this context, design is not merely an element of style but a holistic method of enhancing the quality of processes and services. This human-driven design thinking takes the needs and requirements of users as its starting point and sees stakeholders as highly relevant to the respective processes.

DAA project partners have identified ‘scenarios’ specific to their local context. These eight scenarios tackle topics as diverse as housing, budgeting, social inclusion and technology. Local designers in each city conduct co-design workshops, introducing empathic methods and visualization tools to support strategic decisions and policy-making.
Workshop Berlin The International Design Center focused on assistive technologies and their acceptance. Research in terms of end user acceptance has produced initial findings. Little attention, however, has been paid to acceptance by other stakeholders, although the diversity of their requirements could lead to added acceptance criteria or a shift in emphasis. The IDZ advanced this research within the framework of the DAA project and extended the set of criteria. Recommendations were made that might be essential to the future success of innovations in the field of AAL (Ambient Assisted Living).

You can download the final report and the recommendations here.
Results Project partners presented their results during the final event in April 2014 in Barcelona. The guidebook „Making Ageing Better – A look at how service design can innovate senior care“ summarizes and discusses the results of the DAA project and its partners. You can download the guidebook here.
Funding


The DAA project is co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and made possible by the Interregional Cooperation Programme (INTERREG IVC), which is financed by the European Union Regional Development Fund and helps regions of Europe to work together to share experience and good practice in the areas of innovation, the knowledge economy, the environment and risk prevention.

IDZ Logo
idz.de · Active Ageing
» Design Led Innovations for Active Ageing (DAA)
Link DAA-Webseite Das Internationale Design Zentrum vertritt den Berliner Senat in dem von der EU kofinanzierten Projekt “Design Led Innovations for Active Ageing (DAA)”. Das Projekt hat eine Laufzeit von Januar 2012 bis Juni 2014. Die Projektpartner sind Stadtverwaltungen und Designzentren aus Antwerpen, Barcelona, Berlin, Helsinki, Oslo, Sofia, Stockholm und Warschau.
Hintergrund Der demografische Wandel stellt eine gemeinsame Herausforderung für europäische Städte dar. Es gilt als erwiesen, dass zukünftig immer weniger Pflegepersonal einer wachsenden Anzahl von älteren und pflegebedürftigen Menschen gegenüberstehen wird, während die öffentlichen Mittel für das Gesundheitssystem weiter sinken werden.
Zielstellung Das übergeordnete Ziel des DAA-Projektes ist es, Design als Motor für Innovationen zu nutzen, um neue Möglichkeiten zu erkunden, dem demografischen Wandel zu begegnen. Durch die Verbindung von verschiedenen Stakeholdern und ihren Erfahrungen sowie der Expertise von Service Designern möchte das Projekt soziale Veränderungen im öffentlichen Sektor fördern. Die beteiligten Personen kommen sowohl aus dem öffentlichen als auch dem privaten Sektor und sind Vertreter von Dienstleistern, Kommunen, Technologie-Unternehmen, Versicherungen, politischen Institutionen sowie Endnutzer.
Methode DAA verfolgt einen design- und nutzerorientierten Ansatz. In diesem Zusammenhang steht Design nicht als äußeres Gestaltungsmittel, sondern als eine ganzheitliche Methode, um die Qualität von Prozessen und Dienstleistungen zu fördern. Diese Art des Design Thinking sieht den Menschen bzw. Nutzer im Zentrum des Geschehens und nimmt seine Bedürfnisse und Anforderungen als Ausgangspunkt für die zu gestaltenden Prozesse und Services.

Die DAA-Projektpartner haben jeweils ein lokales „Szenario“ identifiziert, welche so verschiedene Themen wie Wohnungsbau, Budgetplanung, soziale Eingliederung und Technologie beinhalten. Lokale Design-Experten veranstalten Co-Design-Workshops, bei denen empathische Methoden und Visualisierungsmöglichkeiten vorgestellt und angewendet werden, um strategische und politische Lösungsfindungen und Entscheidungen zu ermöglichen.
Workshop Berlin Das Internationale Design Zentrum befasst sich mit dem Thema Akzeptanz von altersgerechten Technologien und Robotik. Während Akzeptanzkriterien aus der Sicht der Endnutzer bereits erforscht wurden, ist bisher wenig Aufmerksamkeit auf andere Stakeholder gelegt worden, und das obwohl deren unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse und Anforderungen zu anderen Kriterien oder einer Verlagerung der Kriterien führen kann. Das IDZ hat die Forschung im Rahmen des DAA-Projektes vorangetrieben und den Kriterienkatalog erweitert. Es wurden Handlungsempfehlungen erstellt, die helfen sollen, Innovationen im Bereich des 'Ambient Assisted Living (AAL)' erfolgreich zu implementieren.

Den Abschlussbericht und die Handlungsempfehlungen können Sie hier herunterladen.
Ergebnisse Im April 2014 stellten die Projektpartner die Ergebnisse ihrer zweijährigen Arbeit im Rahmen einer Abschlussveranstaltung in Barcelona vor. Der Leitfaden „Making Ageing Better – A look at how service design can innovate senior care“ bietet eine Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse aller DAA-Partner und kann hier heruntergeladen werden.
Förderung


Das DAA-Projekt wird kofinanziert vom Europäische Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) und durch das Programm der interregionalen Zusammenarbeit in Europa (INTERREG IVC) ermöglicht. INTERREG IVC wird finanziert durch den Europäische Fonds für regionale Entwicklung und unterstützt europäische Regionen beim Austausch und Transfer von Erfahrungen in den Bereichen Innovation, wissensbasierte Wirtschaft, Umwelt und Risikoprävention.



zum Seitenanfang