IDZ Logo
idz.de · Sustainable Design
» Sustainable Design
The best way to predict the future is to design it.
(Willy Brandt)

What is Sustainable Design? In light of the ever-escalating debate about climactic and environmental change, there has been an intensified consideration in the design world about the influences on and consequences to the built and natural environments that product design can have. Product usage is confronted with environmental interference from the product’s life cycle arising from diverse manufacturing, usage, recycling and disposal processes. Environmentally-conscious design is thus the key to a sustainable society.

In this context, Product Design plays a central role, since 90% of the energy use associated with a product’s production and consumption is already determined in the plans made by the designers. Accordingly, sustainable design has the ability, among other things, to optimize energy efficiency, to minimize pollution emission and waste production, to conserve natural resources, to school social practice and in this way, to help promote sustainable development. Sustainable design, or “eco-design,” is a fundamentally justified concern with an eye to a future-oriented integrated product policy.
Sustainability in Corporations On the business side of things, there is a growing interest and engagement in environmental and social questions, covered under the umbrella term „Corporate Social Responsibility“. This represents a voluntary corporate pledge to integrate social, as well as environmental concerns into company activities. Sustainable design also falls under this category, since design does not only mean designing products – it also means designing creative processes.

Steadily changing environmental conditions, globalization, improved information and communication technologies, and high-turnover societal structure models put pressure on corporations to deal with these matters. On top of that, however, the alignment with sustainable principles offers long-term competitive advantages and hence sustainable profit maximization. One example of how this has manifested itself in business is the model of the “Triple Bottom Line”, which, in terms of sustainable development, rests on a balanced financial coordination of ecological, economic and social concerns.

Business are confronted with a mature generation of consumers, with newly-formed demands, and for whom sustainability anchored in production planning and product programs, integrated product policy and a trustworthy corporate ethic represent a clear and viable purchasing point, just as low prices once did.
Sustainability from the point of view of the consumer The steadily growing trend of promoting health and sustainability through consumer behavior, the so-called “Lifestyle of Health and Sustainability” (LOHAS), has developed strongly over the past few years. An example of this is the development of the ecological food market: in 2004, organic supermarkets in Germany already had a turnover of around 220 million Euro, and in 2007, it climbed to 600 million Euro.

Business goals and sustainable development must not shut each other out. The IDZ wishes to help promote an increasing integration of sustainability in product, space and service design. The new overarching mission for all those involved in these processes is to assume collective responsibility for their effects.

IDZ Logo
idz.de · Sustainable Design
» Sustainable Design
Der beste Weg, die Zukunft vorauszusagen, ist, sie zu gestalten.
(Willy Brandt)

Was ist Sustainable Design? Angesichts einer immer intensiver geführten Debatte über Klima- und Umweltveränderungen wird auch im Designbereich verstärkt darüber nachgedacht, welche Einflüsse und Auswirkungen das Design von Produkten auf Lebenswelt und Umwelt haben. Dem Nutzen von Produkten stehen Umweltbeeinträchtigungen gegenüber, die im gesamten Lebenszyklus eines Produktes aus den vielfältigen Herstellung-, Nutzungs-, Recycling- und Entsorgungsprozessen entstehen. Umweltgerechte Gestaltung ist daher der entscheidende Schlüssel zu einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft.

Das Produktdesign spielt in diesem Zusammenhang eine zentrale Rolle, weil der mit der Produktion und Konsumtion eines Produkts einhergehende Energieverbrauch bis zu 90% bereits im Entwurf des Designers festgelegt wird. Dementsprechend vermag nachhaltiges Design u.a. die Energieeffizienz zu optimieren, den Schadstoffausstoß und die Abfallproduktion zu minimieren, die natürlichen Ressourcen zu schonen, die soziale Praxis zu schulen und so entscheidend zum Erfolg nachhaltiger Entwicklung beizutragen. Sustainable Design oder ECO Design ist grundsätzlich ein berechtigtes Anliegen mit Blick auf eine zukunftsorientierte integrierte Produktpolitik.

Nachhaltigkeit in Unternehmen Auf Unternehmerseite manifestiert sich ein wachsendes Interesse und Engagement in Umwelt- und Sozialfragen unter dem Schlagwort Corporate Social Responsibility, oder Unternehmenssozialverant- wortung. Diese stellt einen freiwilligen unternehmerischen Beitrag dar, soziale Belange sowie Umweltbelange in die Unternehmenstätigkeit zu integrieren. Unter dieses Themengebiet fällt auch nachhaltiges Design, denn Design bedeutet mehr als das Gestalten von Produkten, es bedeutet auch das Gestalten kreativer Prozesse.

Sich stetig verändernde Umweltbedingungen, Globalisierung, verbesserte Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien und auch schneller wechselnde Strukturmodelle innerhalb der Gesellschaft üben Druck auf Unternehmen aus, sich mit der Thematik auseinanderzusetzen. Darüber hinaus jedoch birgt das Thema einen langfristigen Wettbewerbsvorteil, und bietet somit auch eine nachhaltige Profitmaximierung. Diese manifestiert sich wirtschaftlich in der Triple Bottom Line. Dies ist ein Drei-Säulen-Modell, das sich im Sinne der nachhaltigen Entwicklung auf eine ausgewogene Koordination von ökologischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Dimensionen beruft.

Den Unternehmen steht eine mündige Konsumentengeneration gegenüber, deren Ansprüche sich neu formiert hat, und für die eine in der Produktionsplanung und im Produktprogramm verankerte Nachhaltigkeit, eine integrierte Produktpolitik und eine vertrauenswürdige ethische Unternehmensphilosophie genauso klare Kaufargumente darstellen, wie einst der Niedrigpreis.
Nachhaltigkeit aus Verbrauchersicht Der stetig wachsende Trend, Gesundheit und Nachhaltigkeit durch Konsumverhalten zu fördern, den so genannten Lifestyle of Health and Sustainability (LOHAS), hat sich in den letzten Jahren stark entwickelt. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist die Entwicklung und das Potenzial von ökologischen Lebensmitteln: im Jahr 2004 machten Biosupermärkte bereits einen Umsatz von rund 220 Mio. Euro, im Jahr 2007 stieg der Umsatz bereits an die 600 Mio. Euro.

Der Konsens lautet hierbei: Wirtschaftliche Ziele und nachhaltige Entwicklung müssen sich nicht gegenseitig ausschließen. Das IDZ möchte dazu beitragen, dass die Nachhaltigkeit im Design von Produkten, Umgebungen und Dienstleistungen immer stärker in Entwicklungsprozesse eingebunden wird. Es geht darum, gemeinsam Verantwortung zu übernehmen.