»Berlin Design Selection 2016« celebrated its premiere at the Biennale Interieur in Kortrijk (Belgium) from October 14 until 23. The group exhibition tackled a characteristic element of the Wilhelminian-style-architecture of the German capital: the »Berliner Zimmer«, the peculiarities of which still characterise the domestic lives of many residents in the city. At one time, this space connected the stately front-of-house with the rear wing, creating a separation between private and presentable space. Today, the infamous passage room with its solitary window demands innovative approaches to offset its often unwieldy and gloomy character.

The designers and product labels AXEL VEIT, bartmann berlin, COORDINATION, Daniel Becker Design Studio, Hopf,Nordin, llot llov, Niclas Jørgensen, STUDIO BERG and Studio Hausen presented themselves against this unmistakable backdrop and at the same time invoked the original idea of the Biennale Interieur – the interior as a comprehensive living environment.

"Berlin Design Selection 2016" presented objects suitable for classic and modern interiors. The selection ranged from furniture for living and bedrooms to interior accessories, luminaires and innovative product surfaces. The combination of classic and conceptual product typologies, as well as technical and customisable variations reflected the heterogeneity and diversity of Berlin’s contemporary design production.

Biennale Interieur
15-23 October 2016
Interieur Website
Catalogue Berlin Design Selection 2016
Press Information and Images


Impressions





Products





Interviews


Daniel Becker

Emily

bartmann berlin

Unidorm & Neon

Niclas Jørgensen

Stadium Light


Studio Hausen

LINK shelf


llot llov

OSIS

Hopf, Nordin

Fyr

COORDINATION

Navel Table


Contact


Lena Sudmann
T +49 30 61 62 321-0
F +49 30 61 62 321-19
E idz@idz.de


The project »Berlin Design Selection 2016« is supported by the Berlin based internationalization programme »Programm für Internationalisierung – Netzwerk Richtlinie«, co-funded by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund).


10/14–23/2016
IDZ Event

Berlin Design Selection
Biennale Interieur Kortrijk

Organized by the IDZ, this year’s »Berlin Design Selection« will be celebrating its premiere at the Biennale Interieur in Kortrijk (Belgium) from 14th till 23rd of October. The group exhibition tackles a characteristic element of the Wilhelminian-style-architecture of the German capital: the »Berliner Zimmer«, the peculiarities of which characterise the domestic lives of so many residents of the city.

AXEL VEIT, bartmann berlin, COORDINATION, Daniel Becker Design Studio, Hopf,Nordin, llot llov, Niclas Jørgensen, STUDIO BERG and Studio Hausen will present a selection, that range from furniture for living- and bedrooms to living space accessories, luminaires and innovative product surfaces.

Biennale Interieur
Kortrijk Xpo
The Floor Is Yours
Hall 3 | F3 -24
Interieur Website
Google Maps

14 October | 10 am - 9 pm
15-23 October | 10 am - 6 pm


Become a member


9/1–6
10.00 am–6.00 pm

IFA Exhibition

UX Design Awards 2017


About IDZ


How to find us



IDZ e.V.
Am Park 4
10785 Berlin
Germany

2016 war die »Berlin Design Selection« erstmals Teil der Biennale Interieur in Kortrijk, Belgien. Unter dem Titel »Berliner Zimmer« präsentierte das IDZ vom 14. bis zum 23. Oktober 2016 neun ausgewählte Berliner Designer und Produktlabels. Mit dem Berliner Zimmer griff die Gruppenausstellung ein charakteristisches Element der Gründerzeitarchitektur der deutschen Hauptstadt auf. Einst verband dieser Raum das herrschaftliche Vorderhaus mit dem hinteren Seitenflügel und bildete dadurch eine Trennung zwischen privatem und repräsentativem Raum – heute fordert das unbeliebte Durchgangszimmer mit nur einem Fenster einen innovativen Umgang mit seinem oftmals sperrigen und düsteren Charakter.

Die Design- und Produktlabels AXEL VEIT, bartmann berlin, COORDINATION, Daniel Becker, Hopf,Nordin, llot llov, Niclas Jørgensen, STUDIO BERG, Studio Hausen präsentierten sich vor dieser unverkennbaren Kulisse und beriefen sich zugleich auf den Ursprungsgedanken der Biennale Interieur – den Innenraum als Ganzes zu begreifen.

»Berlin Design Selection 2016« präsentierte Objekte, die sowohl für klassische als auch moderne Räume geeignet sind. Die Auswahl erstreckte sich von Möbeln für Wohn- und Schlafräume über Wohnraumaccessoires, bis hin zu Leuchten und innovativen Produktoberflächen. Die Kombination von klassischen und konzeptionellen Produkten, technischen Innovationen und personalisierbaren Variationen spiegelte die Heterogenität und Vielfalt der gegenwärtigen Designproduktion in Berlin wieder.

Biennale Interieur
15.-23. Oktober 2016
Interieur Webseite
Katalog Berlin Design Selection 2016 (englisch)
Presseinformation und Bilder


Impressionen





Produkte





Interviews


Daniel Becker

Emily

bartmann berlin

Unidorm & Neon

Niclas Jørgensen

Stadium Light



Studio Hausen

LINK shelf


llot llov

OSIS

Hopf, Nordin

Fyr



COORDINATION

Navel Table


Kontakt


Lena Sudmann
T +49 30 61 62 321-0
F +49 30 61 62 321-19
E idz@idz.de


Das Projekt „Berlin Design Selection 2016“ wird aus dem Förderprogramm für Internationalisierung – Netzwerk Richtlinie mit Berliner Landesmitteln gefördert und aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) durch die Europäische Union kofinanziert.


14.–23.10.2016
IDZ Event

Berlin Design Selection
Biennale Interieur Kortrijk

In diesem Jahr ist die »Berlin Design Selection« erstmals Teil der Biennale Interieur in Kortrijk, Belgien. Unter dem Titel »Berliner Zimmer« präsentiert das IDZ vom 14. bis zum 23. Oktober 2016 neun ausgewählte Berliner Designer und Produktlabels.

Zu den Ausstellern der diesjährigen »Berlin Design Selection« zählen die Design- und Produktlabels AXEL VEIT, bartmann berlin, COORDINATION, Daniel Becker, Hopf,Nordin, llot llov, Niclas Jørgensen, STUDIO BERG, Studio Hausen. Die Auswahl erstreckt sich von Möbeln für Wohn- und Schlafräume über Wohnraumaccessoires bis hin zu Leuchten und innovativen Produktoberflächen.

Biennale Interieur
Kortrijk Xpo
The Floor Is Yours
Halle 3 | F3 -24
Interieur Webseite
Google Maps

14. Oktober | 10 Uhr - 21 Uhr
15.-23. Oktober | 10 Uhr - 18 Uhr


Mitglied werden


Das IDZ