Guidelines and standards for visual design
The Games of the XX Olympiad Munich 1972.

This design concept set new standards for branding and corporate identity: to get in the mood for the Otl Aicher Year 2022, we recommend the first reprint of his manual for the 1972 Olympic Games.



Just under a quarter of a century after the end of National Socialism, Otl Aicher was commissioned to design the "cheerful" 1972 Munich Olympics. He went about his work systematically and scientifically, freeing visual communication from national pathos and reducing it to the essentials in the spirit of the Bauhaus: use. The manual, completed in 1967, is an astonishingly manageable set of rules, a flexible system of colors, shapes and type that allowed Aicher's team and partners to "play freely" and saved "unnecessary preliminary work and time-consuming detailed decisions."

Aicher had a comprehensive claim: Everything should be able to be designed. With the results from over 100 design areas, he succeeded in creating an extraordinarily broad impact of the appearance and also set new standards in corporate design. To this day, Munich 1972 is considered the most successful design project of all the Olympic Games.

Published by Niggli Verlag, 78 Euro

IDZ members

introduce themselves


Anfang 2020 haben wir begonnen, in unserem monatlichen Newsletter ein IDZ-Mitglied des Monats vorzustellen.

Wir haben inzwischen vier dieser Beiträge auf der Website gesammelt, und hoffen, mit der Zeit einen interessanten Einblick in unsere Mitgliederstruktur zu geben.


Become a member



Network for Design Knowledge & Expertise


About IDZ



Design is a people-centered approach to create positive change.


50 Years IDZ

Design in Focus


As part of the IDZ's 50th anniversary, students of the Industrial Design and Communication Design courses at the HTW Berlin interviewed designers, scientists and entrepreneurs on the current role of design and their vision for its future.

Richtlinien und Normen für die visuelle Gestaltung
Die Spiele der XX. Olympiade München 1972

Dieses Designkonzept setzte neue Maßstäbe für Branding und Corporate Identity: Zur Einstimmung auf das Otl Aicher Jahr 2022 empfehlen wir den ersten Nachdruck seines Handbuchs für die Olympischen Spiele 1972.


Ein knappes Vierteljahrhundert nach dem Ende des Nationalsozialismus erhielt Otl Aicher den Auftrag, die „heiteren“ Olympischen Spiele München 1972 zu gestalten. Er ging dabei systematisch und wissenschaftlich ans Werk, befreite visuelle Kommunikation von nationalem Pathos und reduzierte sie im Sinne des Bauhauses auf das Wesentliche: den Gebrauch. Das 1967 fertiggestellte Handbuch ist ein erstaunlich überschaubares Regelwerk, ein flexibles System aus Farben, Formen und Schrift, das Aichers Team und Partnern ein „freies Spielen“ ermöglichte sowie „unnötige Vorarbeit und zeitraubende Detailentscheidungen“ ersparte.

Aicher hatte einen umfassenden Anspruch: Alles sollte gestaltet werden können. Mit den Ergebnissen aus über 100 Designbereichen gelang es ihm, eine außergewöhliche Breitenwirkung des Erscheinungsbildes zu schaffen und darüber hinaus neue Maßstäbe im Corporate Design zu setzen. Bis heute gilt München 1972 als das erfolgreichste Designprojekt aller Olympischen Spiele.

Erschienen im Niggli Verlag, 78 Euro

IDZ Mitglieder

stellen sich vor


Anfang 2020 haben wir begonnen, in unserem monatlichen Newsletter ein IDZ-Mitglied des Monats vorzustellen.

Wir haben inzwischen vier dieser Beiträge auf der Website gesammelt, und hoffen, mit der Zeit einen interessanten Einblick in unsere Mitgliederstruktur zu geben.


Mitglied werden



Professionelles Netzwerk für Design-Expertise


Das IDZ



Design is a people-centered approach to create positive change.


50 Jahre IDZ