Gerhard Nüssler has worked as chief designer for BSH Hausgeräte GmbH since June 2003. Initially responsible for the design of the Neff and Constructa brands, he has been in charge of the global brand design of Siemens Hausgeräte since October 2009.

Can you briefly introduce us to BSH Hausgeräte GmbH?
BSH Hausgeräte GmbH is the largest home appliance manufacturer in Europe and one of the world's leading companies in the industry. With its outstanding brands, innovative products and first-class solutions, BSH's mission is to continuously improve the quality of life of people around the world.
In addition to the global brands Bosch and Siemens as well as Gaggenau and Neff, the brand portfolio also includes the local brands Thermador, Balay, Profilo, Constructa, Pitsos and Coldex.

Why is BSH a corporate member of the IDZ, and what personally motivated you to become involved as an IDZ board member?
One advantage of membership in the IDZ is obvious: For Siemens Hausgeräte, a brand that stands for design quality like no other, User Experience (UX) is in a very special focus. Since the IDZ also attaches great importance to the topic of UX, we are convinced of a promising partnership for both sides.

I would like to use my membership in the board to promote the importance of design in society together with the IDZ and to make the value contribution of design in and for companies even more visible.

What was the best experience in your professional life so far - the best project, the best client? What are you proud of in your business?
Before I joined BSH Hausgeräte GmbH, I worked for many years in Alexander Neumeister's office. Here I was able to gain valuable experience and work on outstanding projects such as the ICE3 or the Munich subway. The experience gained in these major projects is very valuable to me today in the management of a home appliance brand within the multi-brand group BSH.

The numerous design awards that we have won with the brand in recent years, most recently the German Design Award 2020 in Gold and the Iconic Design Award 2020 - Best of Best, for example, reflect the design competence of the Siemens Home Appliance Design Team. I am proud that I have been able to develop this team to this size over the last ten years.

What is your current inspiration?
I am particularly looking forward to March 9, 2020, when we will be hosting the Siemens Design Award ceremony at the Haus der Kunst in Munich for the third time: Under the motto "Visions that work", participants from four exclusively invited design universities as well as young professionals have submitted their concepts and prototypes. The theme of the competition is the question of how to combine high performance with physical and mental health. In this context, we are calling for solutions to be developed on how people can live sustainably without having to sacrifice anything in their everyday lives.

A top-class jury has selected eleven finalists from the submissions. They will present their work at an interactive event on March 9 and the winners will be chosen in the evening.

(from the February 2020-Newsletter)

Become a member



Network for Design Knowledge & Expertise


About IDZ



Design is a people-centered approach to create positive change.


50 Years IDZ

Design in Focus


As part of the IDZ's 50th anniversary, students of the Industrial Design and Communication Design courses at the HTW Berlin interviewed designers, scientists and entrepreneurs on the current role of design and their vision for its future.

Gerhard Nüssler arbeitet seit Juni 2003 als Chefdesigner für die BSH Hausgeräte GmbH. Zunächst in der Verantwortung für das Design der Marken Neff und Constructa, ist er seit Oktober 2009 für das globale Markendesign der Siemens Hausgeräte verantwortlich.

Können Sie uns kurz die BSH Hausgeräte GmbH vorstellen?
Die BSH Hausgeräte GmbH ist der größte Hausgerätehersteller in Europa und eines der weltweit führenden Unternehmen der Branche. Der Anspruch der BSH ist es, mit ihren herausragenden Marken, innovativen Produkten und erstklassigen Lösungen die Lebensqualität der Menschen weltweit kontinuierlich zu verbessern.
Neben den Globalmarken Bosch und Siemens sowie Gaggenau und Neff umfasst das Markenportfolio auch die lokalen Marken Thermador, Balay, Profilo, Constructa, Pitsos und Coldex.

Weshalb ist BSH Unternehmensmitglied des IDZ, und was hat Sie persönlich dazu bewogen, sich als IDZ-Vorstand zu engagieren?
Ein Vorteil der Mitgliedschaft im IDZ liegt klar auf der Hand: Für Siemens Hausgeräte, eine Marke, die wie keine andere für Designqualität steht, steht die User Experience (UX) in einem ganz besonderen Fokus. Da auch das IDZ dem Thema UX einen hohen Stellenwert einräumt, sind wir von einer für beide Seiten erfolgsversprechenden Partnerschaft überzeugt.

Die Mitgliedschaft im Vorstand möchte ich dazu nutzen, zusammen mit dem IDZ die Bedeutung von Design in der Gesellschaft zu fördern und den Wertbeitrag von Design in und für Unternehmen noch stärker sichtbar zu machen.

Was war die bisher beste Erfahrung in Ihrem Berufsleben – das tollste Projekt, der beste Auftraggeber? Worauf sind Sie in Ihrem Business stolz?
Bevor ich in die BSH Hausgeräte GmbH eintrat, habe ich viele Jahre im Büro von Alexander Neumeister gearbeitet. Hier konnte ich wertvolle Erfahrung sammeln und an herausragenden Projekten wie dem ICE3 oder der Münchener U-Bahn mitwirken. Die Erfahrungen in diesen Großprojekten sind für mich heute sehr wertvoll im Management einer Hausgerätemarke innerhalb des Mehrmarken-Konzerns BSH.

Die zahlreichen Designpreise, die wir mit der Marke in den letzten Jahren erringen konnten, ganz aktuell z.B. den German Design Award 2020 in Gold und den Iconic Design Award 2020 – Best of Best, spiegeln die Designkompetenz des Siemens Hausgeräte Design Teams wider. Ich bin stolz darauf, dieses Team in den letzten zehn Jahren zu dieser Größe entwickeln zu können.

Was inspiriert Sie zurzeit?
Ich freue mich gerade ganz besonders auf den 9. März 2020, an dem wir zum dritten Mal zur Verleihung des Siemens Design Awards im Haus der Kunst in München einladen: Unter dem Motto „Visions that work“ haben die Teilnehmer von vier exklusiv eingeladenen Design-Hochschulen sowie Young Professionals ihre Konzepte und Prototypen eingereicht. Die Themenstellung beschäftigt sich mit der Frage, wie sich hohe Leistungsfähigkeit mit körperlicher und geistiger Gesundheit vereinbaren lässt. In diesem Zusammenhang rufen wir dazu auf Lösungen zu erarbeiten, wie Menschen nachhaltig leben können, ohne in ihrem Alltag auf etwas verzichten zu müssen.

Eine hochkarätige Jury hat aus den Einreichungen elf Finalisten ausgewählt, die am 9. März im Rahmen einer interaktiven Veranstaltung ihre Arbeiten präsentieren werden und aus denen am Abend die Gewinner gekürt werden.

(aus dem Februar 2020-Newsletter)

IDZ Mitglieder

stellen sich vor


Anfang 2020 haben wir begonnen, in unserem monatlichen Newsletter ein IDZ-Mitglied des Monats vorzustellen.

Wir haben inzwischen vier dieser Beiträge auf der Website gesammelt, und hoffen, mit der Zeit einen interessanten Einblick in unsere Mitgliederstruktur zu geben.


Mitglied werden



Professionelles Netzwerk für Design-Expertise


Das IDZ



Design is a people-centered approach to create positive change.


50 Jahre IDZ