After studying in Wiesbaden, Helmut Ness founded the design firm Fuenfwerken with his two partners, focusing on corporate design. In the context of digital transformation, 5W specializes in brand strategy, brand design, brand experience, and brand innovation. In 2000, Helmut changed his center of life to Berlin and focused on the development of the now established capital office of the transformed Fuenfwerken Design AG.

Helmut originally began his career as a type designer, typographer and corporate designer. This resulted in typefaces such as the corporate and information typeface Vialog (Linotype/Monotype), which is used today as a typeface by the Munich public transportation company, the Spanish railroad Renfe, and the New Jersey Transport Authority, among others, as well as in the English lettering for highway signage in Japan.

The topics he has focused on over the past 25 years as a designer, consultant and entrepreneur are holistic CX, service design, UX, brand strategy, design, communication, and implementation. His focused areas of practice are mobility, health, B2B to B2C, and since the birth of his three children, education.

He also conveys his passion for looking for opportunities and continuing to learn with each individual process in order to contribute something new as a coach at the School of Design Thinking at the Hasso Plattner Institute (HPI D-School).

Helmut Ness is a board member of the IDZ and a UX Ambassador for the UX Design Awards.



Fuenfwerken on the web:
www.fuenfwerken.com
Linkedin
Twitter
Instagram

Helmut Ness on the web:
Linkedin
Twitter

Become a member



Network for Design Knowledge & Expertise


About IDZ



Design is a people-centered approach to create positive change.


IDZ members

introduce themselves


Anfang 2020 haben wir begonnen, in unserem monatlichen Newsletter ein IDZ-Mitglied des Monats vorzustellen.

Wir haben inzwischen vier dieser Beiträge auf der Website gesammelt, und hoffen, mit der Zeit einen interessanten Einblick in unsere Mitgliederstruktur zu geben.


50 Years IDZ

Design in Focus


As part of the IDZ's 50th anniversary, students of the Industrial Design and Communication Design courses at the HTW Berlin interviewed designers, scientists and entrepreneurs on the current role of design and their vision for its future.

Vor rund 25 Jahren gründeten Helmut Ness, Rolf Mehnert und Holger Schmidhuber nach Ihrem Studium in Wiesbaden das Designbüro Fuenfwerken. Schwerpunkt war Corporate Design. Im Zeichen der digitalen Transformation ist 5W inzwischen spezialisiert auf Markenstrategie, Markendesign, Markenerlebnis und Markeninnovation. Die Agentur ist heute an den Standorten Berlin, München und Wiesbaden vertreten. 

Helmut begann seine Laufbahn ursprünglich als Schriftgestalter, Typograf und Corporate Designer. Dabei entstanden Schriften, wie die Corporate- und Informationsschrift Vialog (Linotype/Monotype), die heute u. a. als Schrift der Münchner Verkehrsbetriebe, der spanischen Bahn Renfe und der New Jersey Transport Authority zum Einsatz kommt sowie bei der englischen Auszeichnung der Autobahnbeschilderung in Japan.

Als Designer, Berater und Unternehmer konzentriert sich Helmut Ness heute auf die Felder ganzheitliche CX, Servicedesign, UX, Markenstrategie, Design, Kommunikation und Implementierung. Seine Tätigkeitsfelder sind Mobilität, Gesundheit, B2B bis B2C, und seit der Geburt seiner drei Kinder auch Bildung.

Seine Leidenschaft, nach Möglichkeiten zu suchen und mit jedem einzelnen Prozess weiter zu lernen, um letztendlich etwas Neues beitragen zu können, vermittelt er inzwischen auch als Coach an der School of Design Thinking am Hasso Plattner Institut (HPI D-School).

Helmut Ness ist Vorstandsmitglied des IDZ und ein UX Ambassador für die UX Design Awards.



Fuenfwerken im Netz:
www.fuenfwerken.com
Linkedin
Twitter
Instagram

Helmut Ness im Netz:
Linkedin
Twitter

IDZ Mitglieder

stellen sich vor


Anfang 2020 haben wir begonnen, in unserem monatlichen Newsletter ein IDZ-Mitglied des Monats vorzustellen.

Wir haben inzwischen vier dieser Beiträge auf der Website gesammelt, und hoffen, mit der Zeit einen interessanten Einblick in unsere Mitgliederstruktur zu geben.


Mitglied werden



Professionelles Netzwerk für Design-Expertise


Das IDZ



Design is a people-centered approach to create positive change.


50 Jahre IDZ